Skip to Navigation


Expertise across the Former Soviet States (excluding Prebaltics) and extensive experience (over a thousand since 2001) of expert reports and oral evidence - instructed by over 60 firms of solicitors and NGOs. A list is available on request.

Robert Chenciner
MEMBER OF SENIOR COMMON ROOM ST. ANTONY'S COLLEGE, OXFORD; Hon Member Russian Academy of Sciences, Daghestan Scientific Centre 1990 -

QUALIFICATIONS: MA Cantab and has produced more than a thousand full expert reports since 2001

SPECIFIC AREAS OF STUDY & EXPERTISE: Since 1983, studied ethnography, cultures, human rights and current affairs of, initially, the Caucasus, and subsequently all other Former Soviet States, excluding the Prebaltics.

COUNTRY EXPERIENCE: USSR 1983 - 1991; Former Soviet States 1991 - 2004 and is assisted by people working locally on special topics i.e. corruption, religion.

OY (Chechen Muslim women) Russia CG [2009] UKAIT 00005, Date of Hearing: 02 October 2008

EXPERIENCE INTERNATIONAL ORGANISATIONS: OSCE Election monitor Azerbaijan October 2003; Russia March 2004


Over a thousand full reports (10 to 30 pages plus attachments) including around 20 entailing oral evidence. A list of numbers of reports on Appeals by country of origin is available. Has given oral evidence in IAA/AIT Courts inside and outside London. In addition to countries listed, subject fields include Azari separatist Iran, Azeri-Armenians, Nagorno-Karabakh (incl Yezidi Kurd), North Caucasus: Daghestan, North Ossetia, Albanian blood feuds, Kyrgyzstan,Turkmenistan and other social groups across central Asia. Expert has made short visits to Armenia in September 2014 and Albania in October 2014.


"Daghestan Tradition and Survival" (1997 Curzon and St Martin’s)

Russian and Slav languages
Ethnic groups expertise: 
Political groups expertise: 
Religious groups expertise: 
Other social groups expertise: 
[Private to EIN members]
Contact email: 
[Private to EIN members]
[Private to EIN members]
Countries of expertise:
Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Mongolia, Russia, Russia (North Caucasus), Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan